On June 12 the Republic of the Philippines celebrates its 114th Independence Day from its first colonial master Spain.

Leyte Provincial CapitolIn planning for my second trip to Eastern Visayas, I intentionally included in my itinerary the celebration of the independence in Tacloban and maybe in Palo, Leyte.

Leyte Provincial CapitolLeyte has significant place in Philippine history. Not far from the capital city of Tacloban, General Douglas MacArthur, along with the Allied Forces, fulfilled his bold promise to return. He, along with the liberation forces and several national government leaders landed in the Palo, Leyte on October 20, 1944.

Leyte Provincial CapitolAnd for a brief yet key moment in Philippine history, the Provincial Capitol of Leyte became the temporary seat of national government during the World War II. On October 23, 1944, Sergio H. Osmena was formally installed as the president of the Philippine Commonwealth. He was sworn into office by General Douglas MacArthur.


Sharing is caring!