Formally created as a province on March 10, 1917, Leyte has played significant parts in Philippine history. For a brief yet key moment, the provincial capitol of Leyte became the temporary seat of national government during the World War II.

Tacloban Capitol - 02

On October 23, 1944, Sergio H. Osmena was formally installed as the president of the Philippine Commonwealth. He was sworn into office by General Douglas MacArthur.


Sharing is caring!