Southern Leyte was the first province to have been carved out of Leyte. The second and last one was Biliran. On May 22, 1959, Republic Act No. 2227 was signed into law by President Carlos P. Garcia, effectively made the southern towns of Leyte into another province.

Southern Leyte CapitolIt was sponsored by Congressman Nicanor Yñiguez. Maasin, now a city, was chosen as the new seat of provincial government.


Sharing is caring!