The third and last province created during the administration of President Fidel Ramos is the Province of Compostela Valley. The third youngest province in the Philippines today, ComVal was born out of the third congressional district of Davao del Norte, its westerly neighbor.

Compostela Valley Capitol - 01

ComVal actually traces its roots from Davao del Norte, one of the three provinces created from Davao when Republic Act No. 4867 was signed into law on on May 8, 1967. On September 1, 1914, Davao was converted from a Moro district  into a province by virtue of Act No. 2408. The Moro Province was formed when Act No. 787 was enacted on June 1, 1903.

Signed into law on January 30, 1998 by President Fidel V. Ramos, Republic Act No. 8470 provided the charter of the Province of Compostela Valley, assigned the municipality of Nabunturan as its capital, and reckoned its two congressional districts. On March 7, 1998, the charter was ratified in a plebiscite called for that purpose.

Compostela Valley Capitol - 02

Then the governor of Davao del Norte, the late Prospero Amatong assumed as the new province’s interim governor as such privilege was provided for in the law. But after serving in the capitol for just a day, Amatong resigned as governor when he filed his candidacy for congressman of the new province’s second district. He was succeeded by Luz Sarmiento who served from March 27 to June 30, 1998. A former vice governor of the undivided Davao del Norte, Jose Caballero is the first elected governor of Compostela Valley.

Note: This is part of LegendHarry‘s Nov 21-29 Northern Mindanao-Caraga-Davao Trip.


Sharing is caring!