During the Spanish reign in the Philippine archipelago, Surigao was the biggest province in all of Mindanao. The undivided province was comprised of the present-day Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, and some parts of Davao Oriental.

By virtue of Republic Act No. 2786, on June 19, 1960 Surigao was split into two provinces, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur. Surigao del Norte retained Surigao (then still a town) as its capital.

Surigao del Norte CapitolBecause Surigao is close to Leyte island and one of the historic naval battles happened in Surigao Strait, it was not a surprise that the province was ravaged during the Second World War. Hence, the present-day Capitol was rebuilt with the aid of the people of the United States of America under the Philippine Rehabilitation Act (Tydings War Damage Act).

(I would have wanted to explore more of the Capitol but I was barred by the security personnel and told to secure a permit from the Provincial Administrator’s Office. But that was a Saturday. So my activity was unceremoniously cut short. Maybe they didn’t like me or what I looked like. In other Capitols, they let me do my thing.)

Note: This is part of LegendHarry‘s Nov 21-29 Northern Mindanao-Caraga-Davao Trip.


Sharing is caring!