Provincial Capitol: Negros Occidental
The Provincial Capitol of Negros Occidental was formerly located in a house donated by Jose Ruiz de Luzuriaga at the corner of Luzuriaga and Araneta Streets. Upon the recommendations of Governor Jose Locsin, the current capitol was built in 1927 and finished in 1933. It was designed by Architect Juan Arellano, who also did the capitols of Cebu, Quezon, and Misamis Occidental, among other national iconic buildings and landmarks.
It is considered to be one of the important and distinguished examples of government buildings and architectures of first part of the 20th century. It was declared as a national historical landmark on July 19, 2004.
On September 9, 1995, on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of World War II Victory Day, the Province of Negros Occidental dedicated this memorial to the veterans of the war in grateful remembrance and recognition of their sacrifice and heroism.
Facing the Capitol are the man-made lagoon, a male water buffalo (carabao) and a woman holding a sugarcane stalk on the right or north end, and a female carabao and a man on the left or south end. This monument was sculptured by Italian Francesco Riccardo Monti, a good friend of Arellano. Homage to Agriculture, Filipina Agriculturist, and Allegoric Sculpture for Fountain are three of the titles bestowed to this imposing sculpture.