There is no place that has a more bitter root and more tragic beginning than Trece Martires City.

A little past noon on September 12, 1896, 13 prominent people of Cavite were executed by musketry based on the allegation that they were conspirators with Katipunan which staged a revolt in Cavite twelve days earlier.

Trece MartiresThey were:

  1. Luis Aguado
  2. Eugenio Cabezas
  3. Feliciano Cabuco
  4. Agapito Conchu
  5. Alfonso de Ocampo
  6. Maximo Gregorio
  7. Maximo Inocencio
  8. José Lallana
  9. Severino Lapidario
  10. Victoriano Luciano III
  11. Francisco Osorio
  12. Hugo Pérez
  13. Antonio San Agusti­n

On May 24, 1954, President Ramon Magsaysay signed into law the Republic Act No. 981 establishing the new capital of the Province of Cavite and providing its city charter. Thus, the City of Trece Martires was born upon the initiative of Congressman Jose T. Cajulis (Lone District, Cavite) and Senator Justiniano Montaño, Sr.

Interestingly, the barangays were named after the 13 martyrs.

Curiously, the city charter had only specified its “territory not exceeding one thousand hectares located at or near the intersection of the Tanza-Indang Road and the proposed Naic-Dasmariñas Road” (Section 1. Incorporation, powers).

And although it is a city, Trece Martires was administered by the sitting governor in ex officio capacity. It was only upon the approval of Republic Act No. 7325 by President Corazon C. Aquino on March 31, 1992 that city officials (mayor, vice mayor, regular members of the sangguniang panlungsod, and such other officials as may be provided by law), shall be elected at large by qualified voters of the city” (Section 1. Elective Officials of the City Government of Trece Martires City, Province of Cavite).

From an obscure, very remote yet so large barangay, Trece Martires City is now a bustling, thriving community which prides itself to be a Drug and Gambling Free City which in a sense a huge tribute to the sacrifices of the 13 prominent Caviteños.


Sharing is caring!