Because the Province of Cotabato was one of the largest and richest provinces of the Philippines, it was inevitable for it to be further subdivided. So, on November 22, 1973 by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 341 issued by President Ferdinand E. Marcos, the provinces of Sultan Kudarat, North Cotabato, and Maguindanao were created.

Sultan Kudarat Capitol The municipalities of Tacurong, Isulan, Lutayan, Bagumbayan, Kalamansing, Lebak, Columbio, Palimbang and the new towns of President Quirino, Mariano Marcos and Esperanza comprised the Province of Sultan Kudarat (Section 4). The Municipality of Isulan was named as its capital (Section 5).

Sultan Kudarat CapitolThe province was named after the bravest, fiercest and most revered ruler of Maguindanao, Sultan Kudarat, who at the height of his power reigned most of Mindanao island.


Sharing is caring!