Legazpi City is the capital of the Province of Albay and the premier city in Bicol Region. Named after the Spanish voyager and conqueror Miguel Lopez de Legazpi, it has an unenviable record of having gained its cityhood status thrice. Under the Becerra Law of 1892, it became a city which was comprised the towns of Legazpi, Albay Viejo, and Daraga. The American occupation had stripped its city status and consequently dissolved it. On April 20, 1901, by virtue of Act No. 122, The Provincial Government Act of 1901 extended its provisions in creating the Province of Albay, including the islands of San Miguel, Caoraray,Read More →

After one of our Victory groups, Paul and I were talking about Naga City. I told him that I’d be going to the Heart of Bicol Peninsula. He suggested to me that I should go to Panicuason, added that it’s worth trying. So, I did. And my group also did. Located in the northeastern barangay of Panicuason, the hot springs resort, named after the village it is located, is a therapeutic haven beneath the shades of Mount Iriga. Panicuason Hot Springs Resort is roughly 16 kilometers from the city center up to the main gate and another 1.3 kilometers of one-lane concrete road. One hasRead More →

Today, the entire Philippines will pay homage to the 116th death anniversary of Dr. José P. Rizal who was shot to death on December 30, 1896 in Bagumbayan, now Rizal Park, aptly named after him. To the freedom-loving and patriotic people of Camarines Norte led by Lt. Col. Ildefonso Alegre and Lt. Col. Antonio Sanz of the Philippine Revolutionary Army, they were the first to make tribute to the country’s foremost national hero. On December 30, 1898, they unveiled the first Rizal Monument in the Philippines. On April 14 to 18, 1898, these patriots who comprised the Katipunan unit in Camarines Norte led a revoltRead More →

The Philippine Commission, as authorized by the President of the United States, oversaw the reorganization of provincial and municipal governments in the Philippines. On April 20, 1901, in pursuant to Act No. 83, otherwise known as The Provincial Government Act of 1901, extended its provisions in creating the Province of Albay, including the islands of San Miguel, Caoraray, Batan and Rapurrapu, by virtue of Act No. 122. The capital of the province was the town of Albay (Section 5). Act No. 122 created the offices of the provincial governor, secretary, treasurer, supervisor, and fiscal. The Old Albay has been incorporated to Legazpi which became aRead More →

Page 1 of 212