Location: Monkayo, Compostela Valley Types: Cascade, Multi-step, Fan horsetail For the first day of my ten-day Chasing Waterfalls Project: Davao and SOCCSKSARGEN Edition, it was necessary that I stay overnight in Nabunturan. It was out of familiarity and convenience. I already spent overnight in the Compostela Valley capital in November 2012. And coming from Mainit Hot Spring, it was almost 4PM when I reached Mawab. So I needed to find an accommodation rather quick before dusk and to rest right away. Of course, I haven’t had a decent sleep for more than 24 hours.After finishing off an instant coffee the following morning, I checked outRead More →

Location: Masara, Maco, Compostela Valley Types: Cascade, Multi-step Cramped and filled to the brim, it was a little past ten in the morning when the big passenger jeepney left the integrated transport terminal in Tagum City, the capital of Davao del Norte. In the comforts of a rear seat, I sneaked in for a power nap as the jeepney roared its way to Masara, Maco, Compostela Valley. I did not sleep the night before because I flew in on a red-eye flight. So, after more than two hours of rough and tumble ride, the jeep finally reached Masara. Although I specifically instructed the conductor toRead More →

The third and last province created during the administration of President Fidel Ramos is the Province of Compostela Valley. The third youngest province in the Philippines today, ComVal was born out of the third congressional district of Davao del Norte, its westerly neighbor. ComVal actually traces its roots from Davao del Norte, one of the three provinces created from Davao when Republic Act No. 4867 was signed into law on on May 8, 1967. On September 1, 1914, Davao was converted from a Moro district  into a province by virtue of Act No. 2408. The Moro Province was formed when Act No. 787 was enactedRead More →