The future president of the Republic of the Philippines was born to Gerardo Roxas, Sr. and Rosario Acuña in this house in the former town of Capiz, Capiz on January 1, 1892. Manuel Acuña Roxas had a meteoric rise to Philippine politics and public service. In 1917 he was elected to the Capiz Municipal Council. From 1919 to 1922, he was the governor of the Province of Capiz. As a member of the House of Representatives, Roxas represented the first district of Capiz to the Sixth (1922-25), Seventh (1925-28), Eighth (1928-31), Ninth (1931-34), and Tenth (1934-45) Philippine Legislatures. He also represented Capiz in the FirstRead More →

Contemporary Philippine history has produced a great number of Ilocano heroes and heroines and prominent national leaders and icons. A few months after the declaration of Philippine independence from Spain, a child full of promise was born in the household of Gabriel Llanes and Mercedes Madamba in Dingras, Ilocos Norte on September 20, 1898. She was Josefa Llanes, the eldest in a brood of seven. Soon Josefa Llanes was realizing those promises and potentials: graduated as top of her class in Dingras Elementary School, salutatorian from Laoag Provincial High School, a teaching degree with honors at the Philippine Normal College in 1919, a high schoolRead More →

The cool weather and idyllic setting of a rural life proved to be very beneficial in rearing, nurturing and raising heroes, icons and nation-builders. Such was the case of the Philippines’ foremost national hero Dr. José P. Rizal who came from a very laid-back town of Calamba, Laguna. And such is the case of Quintin Paredes. To some Manileños, Quintin Paredes is just a major thoroughfare in the busy Binondo District. But during his time, he distinguished himself as one of the most prominent national leaders. Born on September 9, 1884 in the mountainous town of Bangued, Abra, he ascended the national political scene inRead More →

Obscured by its far more famous neighbor, the UNESCO World Heritage Site Paoay Church, is the birthplace of Valentin Diaz. If one has to be asked who was or were the founders of Katipunan, only Andres Bonifacio would easily be named. And Valentin Diaz could easily escape from anyone’s roll call, albeit hardly mentioned in Philippine History classes. This Ilocano revolutionary was born to Geronimo Diaz and Maria Villanueva in Paoay on November 1, 1849. Eight years later, they moved to Tayug, Pangasinan. When José P. Rizal founded La Liga Filipina on July 3, 1892, Diaz became a gobernadorcillo member. He was appointed as the treasurerRead More →

Born on September 11, 1917, Ferdinand Marcos was born to Representative Mariano Marcos y Rubio and Doña Josefa Edralin y Quetulio in Sarrat, Ilocos Norte. He would become a controversial icon in Philippine history. He was an exemplary orator, a gifted writer, a varsity athlete (swimmer, boxer, wrestler), a UP College of Law magna cum laude, a bar topnotcher, a soldier, a guerilla, a three-term congressman (Second District, Ilocos Norte), a senator, a Senate Minority Floor Leader, a Senate President, Philippine president from 1965 to 1986. Depending on which side of history one leans on, Marcos was and is continually despised and admired. The formerRead More →