Location: Poblacion PeƱaplata, Island Garden City of Samal, Davao del Norte Types: Cascade, Tiered, Segmented One of the destinations that we visited during our recent Feb 13-16 Davao City + Surigao del Sur + Samal Island Trip is Hagimit Falls. The falls is one of the must-see places in the Island Garden City of Samal. Although it is not as spectacular as those waterfalls that I have chased thus far, Hagimit Falls has its unique charm that has gravitated tourists and travelers alike to pay a visit. Hagimit Falls is composed of several smaller tiers and segmented waterfalls which naturally provide pools, perfect fit forRead More →

One of the districts of the defunct Moro Province and later known as the Department of Mindanao and Sulu was Davao. Davao and Agusan, Bukidnon, Cotabato, Lanao, Sulu, and Zamboanga were converted to provinces when the Philippine Commission approved Act No. 2408 (under Chapter II, The Provincial Governments; Article 8, Preliminary Provisions; Section 19) on September 1, 1914. Because of its sheer size owing to the fact that it nearly occupied one-fifth of the island of Mindanao, the Davao province was further subdivided into three: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, and Davao Oriental. On May 8, 1967, President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed into lawRead More →