The Islamic City of Marawi is the capital city of the Province of Lanao del Sur.The city was formerly called Dansalan, a thriving town along the banks of Agus River and Lake Lanao. By virtue of Commonwealth Act No. 592, President Manuel L. Quezon approved on August 19, 1940 the conversion of the town of Dansalan into a city. It was the last city chartered under the Commonwealth of the Philippines. On June 16, 1956, President Ramon Magsaysay signed Republic Act No. 1552 renamed Dansalan City into Marawi City. On May 22, 1959, President Carlos P. Garcia approved Republic Act No. 2228 dividing the ProvinceRead More →

There was an obscure and sleepy coastal village that was thrust to prominence when the leading propagandist and national icon was banished on July 17, 1892. At around 7PM on that historic night, Dr. José P. Rizal, together with Captain Delgras and three artillery men, landed at Sta. Cruz Beach in Dapitan, Zamboanga to start his four-year exile. With a farol de combate that lit the dark Sta. Cruz Street, they walked towards Casa Real where Rizal was presented to Don Ricardo Carcinero, the military governor of the District of Zamboanga. Rizal made Casa Real as his first residence until March 1893 when he transferredRead More →

The capital of the Province of Capiz was named after the last president of the Commonwealth of the Philippines, the first president of the Third Philippine Republic, and the fifth president of the Philippines pursuant to the provisions of Republic Act No. 603.On April 11, 1951, the city charter was signed by President Elpidio Quirino, who succeeded President Manuel Acuña Roxas upon his untimely death in Clark Air Field in Pampanga. The province’s proudest son, President Roxas was born to Gerardo Roxas, Sr. and Rosario Acuña in a house in the former town of Capiz, Capiz on January 1, 1892. His presidency was cut shortRead More →

Legazpi City is the capital of the Province of Albay and the premier city in Bicol Region. Named after the Spanish voyager and conqueror Miguel Lopez de Legazpi, it has an unenviable record of having gained its cityhood status thrice. Under the Becerra Law of 1892, it became a city which was comprised the towns of Legazpi, Albay Viejo, and Daraga. The American occupation had stripped its city status and consequently dissolved it. On April 20, 1901, by virtue of Act No. 122, The Provincial Government Act of 1901 extended its provisions in creating the Province of Albay, including the islands of San Miguel, Caoraray,Read More →

 Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them. – William Shakespeare, Twelfth Night There was a man who was destined to achieve greatness not for himself but for others and in the places he was thrust in. On June 22, 1890, a child named Paulino was born in Camiling, Tarlac to Remigio Santos and Rosa Torres. Growing up, he pursued a career in military by enrolling at the Philippine Constabulary Officer’s School (now the Philippine Military Academy) where he graduated as valedictorian in 1914. From 1916 to 1917 Paulino Santos fought bravely in Lanao where he attained exceptional andRead More →

Page 1 of 3123