One of the must-see destinations in the mystical province of Siquijor is the San Isidro Labrador Church in the town of Lazi. The parish church is located just off the Siquijor Circumferential Road. The Lazi parish was established by the Augustinian Recollects in 1857. Father Toribio Sanchez, O.A.R., administered the construction of the church and the convent. It was made of coral stones and hard wood. Filipino artisans completed the church in 1884 and the belfry the year after. Pursuant to the provisions of Presidential Decree No. 260 issued by President Ferdinand E. Marcos on August 1, 1973, as amended by Presidential Decree No. 375Read More →

Like the other churches in the Philippine islands, the Church of Tumauini was originally made of light materials. In 1707, it was built by Fray Francisco Nuñez, OP, and dedicated to the patron saint, San Matias. Tumauini was separated from Cabagan and became a regular parish on May 7, 1751. In 1783, the church of stone with a unique cylindrical bell tower was constructed by Father Domingo Forto. It was completed in 1805. The four-layer, cake-like bell tower is the only of its kind in the Philippines. The Royal Decree of May 1, 1856 authorized the creation of the Province of Isabela in honor ofRead More →

Facing Panguil Bay, the Fuerte de la Concepcion Y del Triunfo was a Spanish fortress built in 1707 by a Jesuit priest Father Jose Ducos. It was built to provide the townsfolk protection against the marauding pirates and to shelter for Spanish galleons. Also known as Cotta, the rectangularly-shaped Spanish fort had four bulwarks, namely, San Fernando, San Jose, Santiago, and San Ignacio. The Cotta was a headquarter of the Philippine Constabulary during the American occupation of the Philippine islands. During the Second World War, it was turned into a garrison by the Japanese Imperial Army. The fort was destroyed by a powerful earthquake inRead More →

Father Martin De Rada, OSA may have built the first church and convent of Dumangas, Iloilo in 1572. In the same year, however, Father Juan de Alva constructed the first stone church in Panay Island in a small place called Ermita which means chapel. It was built in the hilly part of the present-day Dumangas. A new chapel was built in the former location of Ermita and the ruins of the former chapel can still be seen inside. Pursuant to the provisions of Presidential Decree No. 260 issued by President Ferdinand E. Marcos on August 1, 1973, as amended by Presidential Decree No. 375 approvedRead More →

Under the patronage of Saint Augustine, the first church and convent of Dumangas, Iloilo was built by Father Martin De Rada, OSA, in 1572. The Apostle of Panay, Father Rada was the first Catholic missionary to arrive in Panay Island having been in the island six years prior to the church construction. The church was destroyed in 1628; a new church was also destroyed by a powerful earthquake in 1787. Father Fernando Llorente had it rebuilt in Gothic Byzantine style in 1887 and completed by Father Rafael Murillo in 1896. In 1988, the National Historical Institute declared the Dumangas Church as a national historical landmarkRead More →

Page 1 of 41234