Location: Sitio Kangko, Brgy. Lamlahak, Lake Sebu, South Cotabato Types: Multi-step, Slide horsetail The mountain paradise called Lake Sebu is home to the indigenous people group called T’bolis. The municipality of Lake Sebu is now more popularly know for its Seven Falls. The Seven Falls of Lake Sebu has gained traction over the last several years that it has already eclipsed the town’s foremost natural attractions (Lake Sebu, Lake Seloton, and Lake Lahit). But deep into its forested areas is another wonder rarely visited. Far from the madding crowd of Seven Falls is Mahil Falls. The waterfall is composed of two almost identical tiers. BecauseRead More →

Location: Sitio Inamong, Brgy. Matigol, Arakan, Cotabato Types: Cascade, Multi-step, Fan horsetail As soon as the Rural Transit bus was cruising along the BUDA (Bukidnon-Davao) Highway, I often looked at the direction of the conductor. From time to time, I would ask if Campo Uno. From Campo Uno, I hired a habal habal motorcycle going to Barangay Matigol which sadly I found out to be still far from Sitio Inamong. So I have to walk down the dirt road while enjoying the aroma that the flowering coffee trees exude. At Sitio Matigol, I asked for some assistance. Adult Manobos were unavailable so some children accompaniedRead More →

The former undivided province of Cotabato was once the largest in the Philippines. On July 18, 1966, however, the once kingdom was divided as President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed into law Republic Act No. 4849, creating the provinces of North Cotabato and South Cotabato. Then on November 22, 1973 by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 341 issued by President Marcos, the province of North Cotabato was further divided with the creation of Sultan Kudarat, North Cotabato, and Maguindanao. The municipalities of Pigcawayan, Libungan, Alamada, Midsayap, Kabacan, Carmen, Matalam, M’lang, Tulunan, Makilala, President Roxas, Magpet, Kidapawan and Pikit comprised the new province of North Cotabato (SectionRead More →

Because the Province of Cotabato was one of the largest and richest provinces of the Philippines, it was inevitable for it to be further subdivided. So, on November 22, 1973 by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 341 issued by President Ferdinand E. Marcos, the provinces of Sultan Kudarat, North Cotabato, and Maguindanao were created. The municipalities of Tacurong, Isulan, Lutayan, Bagumbayan, Kalamansing, Lebak, Columbio, Palimbang and the new towns of President Quirino, Mariano Marcos and Esperanza comprised the Province of Sultan Kudarat (Section 4). The Municipality of Isulan was named as its capital (Section 5). The province was named after the bravest, fiercest and mostRead More →

Page 1 of 3123