One of the must-see destinations in the mystical province of Siquijor is the San Isidro Labrador Church in the town of Lazi. The parish church is located just off the Siquijor Circumferential Road. The Lazi parish was established by the Augustinian Recollects in 1857. Father Toribio Sanchez, O.A.R., administered the construction of the church and the convent. It was made of coral stones and hard wood. Filipino artisans completed the church in 1884 and the belfry the year after. Pursuant to the provisions of Presidential Decree No. 260 issued by President Ferdinand E. Marcos on August 1, 1973, as amended by Presidential Decree No. 375Read More →

Like the other churches in the Philippine islands, the Church of Tumauini was originally made of light materials. In 1707, it was built by Fray Francisco Nuñez, OP, and dedicated to the patron saint, San Matias. Tumauini was separated from Cabagan and became a regular parish on May 7, 1751. In 1783, the church of stone with a unique cylindrical bell tower was constructed by Father Domingo Forto. It was completed in 1805. The four-layer, cake-like bell tower is the only of its kind in the Philippines. The Royal Decree of May 1, 1856 authorized the creation of the Province of Isabela in honor ofRead More →