The Province of Lanao del Sur is the slightly bigger southern half of the former Province of Lanao. During the American occupation of the Philippine Islands, the Philippine Commission implemented a national government and political reorganization. Pursuant to the provisions of Act No. 83 or otherwise known as The Provincial Government Act of 1901, Act No. 787 was approved on June 1, 1903 and made effective on July 15, 1903. Thus the Moro Province was created. The Municipality of Zamboanga was made as its capital (section 1). On July 23, 1914, Act No. 2408 renamed Moro Province as the Department of Mindanao and Sulu. ItRead More →

Misamis Occidental is a province that protrudes in the northeastern side of the Zamboanga Peninsula Region. It is the western half of the former Spanish Province of Misamis which by the power of the Philippine Commission was re-created by virtue of Act No. 128 approved on May 15, 1901. The full provisions of Act No. 83 or The Provincial Act of 1901 was extended to effect such recreation. The Province of Misamis also included the island of Camiguin and small adjacent islands. Act No. 128 designated the town of Cagayan as the provincial capital. It should be noted that the former undivided provinces of SurigaoRead More →

On April 15, 1901, the Philippine Commission approved Act No. 115 creating the Province of Capiz. It was the third province to be organized in Panay Island pursuant to the provisions of the Provincial Government Act of 1901 (Act No. 83). The Province of Iloilo through Act No. 113 and the Province of Antique through Act No. 114 were organized on April 11 and April 13, respectively. The town of Capiz was named as the provincial capital (Section 5). It is now called as Roxas City. President Ramon Magsaysay signed Republic Act No. 1414 on April 25, 1956. It separated from the Province of CapizRead More →

According to Section 1 of Act No. 113 approved by the Philippine Commission on April 11, 1901, all the provisions of The Provincial Government Act of 1901 was extended to a provincial government in that territory in the Island of Panay known as the Province of Iloilo, including the Comandancia of Concepcion. The town of Iloilo was made the capital of the province (section 5). General Martin Delgado became the first civilian governor from 1901 to 1904. Located beside the imposing new provincial capitol is called the Casa Real. Made of wood and stone during the Spanish colonial era, the Casa Real was the seatRead More →

If the Province of Aklan has a revolutionary hero named General Francisco del Castillo, the Province of Antique has General Leandro Locsin Fullon. He was born in the storied coastal town of Hamtic, Antique on March 13, 1877. Although the independence from Madre EspaƱa was already proclaimed in Kawit, Cavite on June 12, 1998, the Philippine Revolution continued in the Visayas. Together with Generals Martin Delgado and Ananias Diokno, General Leandro Fullon, the commanding officer of the Visayan forces, was sent by General Emilio Aguinaldo to liberate the island. The independence proved to be short-lived, if not an anomaly, as the Filipino-American War commenced nearlyRead More →

Page 1 of 3123