One of the districts of the defunct Moro Province and later known as the Department of Mindanao and Sulu was Davao. Davao and Agusan, Bukidnon, Cotabato, Lanao, Sulu, and Zamboanga were converted to provinces when the Philippine Commission approved Act No. 2408 (under Chapter II, The Provincial Governments; Article 8, Preliminary Provisions; Section 19) on September 1, 1914. Because of its sheer size owing to the fact that it nearly occupied one-fifth of the island of Mindanao, the Davao province was further subdivided into three: Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, and Davao Oriental. On May 8, 1967, President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed into lawRead More →

The third and last province created during the administration of President Fidel Ramos is the Province of Compostela Valley. The third youngest province in the Philippines today, ComVal was born out of the third congressional district of Davao del Norte, its westerly neighbor. ComVal actually traces its roots from Davao del Norte, one of the three provinces created from Davao when Republic Act No. 4867 was signed into law on on May 8, 1967. On September 1, 1914, Davao was converted from a Moro district  into a province by virtue of Act No. 2408. The Moro Province was formed when Act No. 787 was enactedRead More →